Martin Luther King’s Audio Blog

We all have a dream…

Ihaveadream

All men are created equal.

Martin Luther King, Jr. was a civil rights movement advocator that promoted a speech that would live beyond his years.  He was one of the youngest Nobel Peace prize winner and a great orator.

About cadeleo
My name is Christina DeLeo, I am a grad student working on completing my Master's of Educational Technology degree at Boise State University.

3 Responses to Martin Luther King’s Audio Blog

  1. Sarah Begley says:

    This is one of the greatest speeches of all time. I agree that it will live on for many many many years. Do you teach about Martin Luther King Jr. in your classes? If you do, do you use a sound clip or just have the students read the words? I think doing both would be great because the students can see the words and hear him saying them.

    • cadeleo says:

      Sarah, I do not teach in a classroom compared to many of my peers. I used to be a corporate trainer and technical writer. I am not sure how the sound clips work, but I’ve been told that you can hear them well. I use closed captioning or CART – Communication Access Realtime Translation. CART is a fast growing tool for many deaf and hard of hearing people. The thing about this sound clip is I have always admired Martin Luther King, Jr. as being a pioneer for civil rights for all races, an advocator for equality, and the youngest man to receive the Nobel Peace Prize. I used this sound clip as an illustration of how moving speeches can have a profound effect on a community, much less a nation. Without these moving speeches, we would never grow to learn, experience, or change.

  2. butseriously says:

    It is great that we have the technological capability to record these great events. It is motivational to be able to hear him speak those words himself. Wouldn’t it be great to hear Lincoln’s Gettysburg Address in his own words? CART sounds like it’s a great tool for those with hearing difficulties. I’ll have to check it out.

    I have audio of my son cooing when he was just a baby…not a world event, but it is great to me to be able to remember what he sounded like all those years ago.

Leave a comment